STYLED OUT THE A.P.T.

Remember, last week I gave you all a glimpse of my Thanksgiving prep for the apartment? So, I ended up styling my apartment on Tuesday. It came pretty sweet too. The greatest thing about styling the apartment was that I didn’t feel overwhelmed by knowing that I HAD to get accessories in a short space of time. I wasn’t pressured at the last minute since I was buying a piece here, a piece there — in that way I kinda had things put aside and I didn’t have to put out a great sum of money all at once in order to get things done. Who wouldn’t love that. At some point in time, I had to pull from the creative part of me to simply make things work *TimGunnVoice*. This is basically how it looked.
In my whipper-snapper days (aka younger days), I didn’t really pay much attention to windowsills. It was just a…space, you know? But now, I see it as an opportunity to inject personality and of course some personal style. I purchased the plant from Lowes awhile ago and added a pic of Nini and the ceramic Buddha head from HomeGoods (for $19.00). Couldn’t go wrong there. The windowsill looks fresh (do real people still say fresh?) 0_o
One side of the bookshelf looked like this. I love my lil straw pumpkin that I picked up from HomeGoods for a wicked clearance price of $3.99. You can also peep the pic of Nini’s feet as a baby. That pic happens to be my very first published photo and I was so happy that it could be of one of the very dearest persons in my life. I love her so. I digress. On the top shelf, I also used The Big Man’s (the hubby’s) headpiece from this year’s carnival in Trinidad. He played in the section Masai warrior in a band called Tribe. The headpiece makes a statement and is definitely a conversation starter. It’s a lil extra Trini ‘ting’ 😉
A closer look at the Masai Warrior headpiece 
A view of the living room from the office
A new coffee table is screaming my name since the storage ottoman that we currently use is just too narrow for the space. I’ve been searching for something that makes me swoon at a swoon worthy price, but so far, nada. I may have to do some antique shopping and repurpose. We’ll see how that goes.
So I had this idea of painting purple and orange (my accent colors) free form shapes onto denim to place in the newly acquired Ribba frames from Ikea, but I didn’t have enough time. So, instead of having blank picture frames, I found some images of abstract art with the colors I wanted and printed it on 8.5″x11″ paper and assembled it — printed artwork, the scraps of denim, then sealed that sucker. And there it was. Though it may be a temporary piece (until I do my own art piece), to me it still speaks volumes as opposed to the blank-ity, blank space that was there before.
A look at the second art piece.
Close up of the denim material
These Felicia curtains from IKEA were the absolute perfect color. I could not pass them up, especially at $29.99 (for 2 panels). No. Sir. #HadToHaveIt The seriously give the look of silk dupioni.
And that’s it. That’s how the dear a.p.t. looked and I lurved it. It’s very relaxing to come home to it actually and I didn’t have to spend an arm and a leg (maybe an index finger but that’s it). It’s still a work a work in progress but I’m getting there. 😉
2 comments

  1. You are giving me ideas. Since, however, I am not in the least bit ambitious and daring, I suggest you start your design-on-a-shoe-string budget decorating line. I promise to be a willing fashion-guinea pig, emm, client. You have a bright future ahead!!!

  2. @Esqforhire lol. You so put a smile on my face. Thanks 😉 I love decorating and of course I'm working on with a budget. It's such a great feeling to enjoy your space and have it look 'upscale' without an 'upscale' price attached. I look forward to more of your comments and maybe, just maybe, you can be my client *cough, cough — fashion guinea pig* 😉

Leave a Reply

